Society for Electroacoustic Music of Czech Republic in cooperation with Czech Music Council / Arts Institute, Academy of Arts supported by Ministry of Culture CR, State Culture Fund of the Czech Republic and Foundation Czech Music Fund

FINAL PROTOCOL

International Electroacoustic Music Competition

MUSICA NOVA 2023

Jury

João Pedro Oliveira (chairman), Daniel Blinkhorn, Lenka Dohnalová, Juraj Ďuriš, Clara Maïda, Louise Rossiter, Adam Stanović

103 pieces were considered from 26 countries

Category A

(compositions of autonomous art electroacoustic music)

First Prize

Martin BÉDARD (Canada) Honey (Architectures from Silence No. 1)

Honorary Mention

Kramer Elwell (USA) OWN.k, Stéphane Roy (Canada) Après, les cendres, Clemens von Reusner (Germany) REEHD

Other finalists

Alex Buck (Brazil) Otherness, Irving Kinnersley (UK) Estuary 2, Adrian Moore (UK) Voices in the Dark, Annette Vande Gorne (Belgium) Vox in Alia: vox intima, Berk Yagli (Cyprus) Ideological Distortion

Category B

(compositions for acoustic instrument/voice/ensemble & electroacoustic media)

First Prize

John YOUNG (UK) SoundPlay

Honorary Mention

Panayiotis Kokoras (Greak/USA) Bellow, Przemyslaw Scheller (Poland) Koan II

Other Finalists

Rainer Bürck (Germany) In Zugen, Kyong Mee Choi (South Korea) Flowering Dandelion

Category C

Honorary Mention

Eduardo Prudente (Brazil) Calcaire, Berk Yagli (Cyprus) The Cycle of Life and Decay

Special Award for Czech Composition

Tobiáš Horváth Historie Josefa Egyptského

Honorary Mention

Tomáš Pernický Postcard from Neo Tokyo

Lenka Dohnalová, director of the competition

Llufa Dstew!

João Pedro Oliveira, chairman of jury

SEAH, Czech Republic

Prague, November 18, 2023